The shortlist for the Signature Annual Awards 2018 has been announced!

14th Aug 2018, 10:55am

The shortlist for the Signature Annual Awards 2018 has been announced!

With over 200 nominations received this year, the tenth anniversary of the Signature Annual Awards is looking to be the most exciting and memorable yet. The short-listing process has been extremely difficult, and our panel of judges were overwhelmed by the inspirational achievements of everyone who received a nomination.

The Signature Annual Awards are a cornerstone in our work to recognise people who are going above and beyond to improve access for deaf people. Our shortlisted nominees and guests will be invited to a wonderful awards evening at the iconic BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art on the stunning Newcastle-Gateshead Quayside on Friday 9th November 2018.

We are delighted to announce the shortlist as follows...

Campaign for the Future Award

Catelyn Grundy (Speak for Sign)

Transport for London (TFL)

Dr. Dawn Rimmer

Bhulla Beghal (Birmingham Media)


Community Spirit Award

Lily Conlan

Southend High School for Girls

Vision Signing Choir



Workplace Commitment Award

Smethwick Fire Station – Blue Watch

Macmillan Cancer support


Bluebell Ward – Springfield Hospital

ITV SignPost

Healthwatch Dudley


Leadership Award

Charmaine Wombwell

Sadia Grabham

Alex Duguid

Ellie Parfitt (Deafie Blogger)


Outstanding Student Award

Millie Malone

Lucy Sharp

Gabrielle Flockton

Mark Stock

Maureen Hurrell

Paul Dowling


Excellent Teacher Award

Emma Iliffe

Natalie Koenig

Alison Wherry-Alimo

Andrew Belcher

Jamie Ross

Stephen Ellis-Menton


Support Champion Award

Helen Andrews

Mandy Davison

MeSign Communication Support Workers

Flora Kerr

Caroline Ryan

Paul Watson


Professional Contribution Award

Gaye Hampton

Janice Crossland-Jones

Jeanette Campbell-Turner

Michelle Teesdale


Enriching Education Award

Bungay High School

Sunshine Sign (Sarah Prudhoe)

City Lit Deaf English and Maths team

Cornwall College (Jackie Bryant and Manda Lambert)


Signature Lifetime Achievement Award

The winner of the Signature Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced at the awards ceremony.


Tickets are on sale now. Nominees will receive a free ticket to attend the awards. Additional tickets can be purchased for friends and family for £60, which includes a drinks reception with canapés, a luxury two-course meal and wine for your table.

Thank you again for the amazing response to our call for nominations. We hope to see many of you in November!

Further information about ticketing, our nominees and the awards can be found here: